Spain makes history with ‘first ever’

Women’s World Cup win, beating England 1-0

Carmona scores final goal to win title eight years after qualifying in 2015
Bonmati wins Golden Ball Young Player of the Year is 2003 graduate Farahuelo

The ‘Invincibles’ of Spain have lifted their first ever trophy after defeating the ‘End of Soccer’ England in the final of the 섯다 FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia-New Zealand.

Spain, ranked sixth in the FIFA rankings, beat England 1-0 in the final on Tuesday (July 20) at Stadium Australia in Sydney, Australia, thanks to a 29th-minute goal from Olga Carmona.

Spain’s victory capped a month-long tournament that kicked off on July 20.

The final was interesting because of the history it made for either team.

For both Spain and England, it was the first time they had ever reached a Women’s World Cup final.

Spain, who hadn’t reached the Women’s World Cup since 2015 in Canada (where they were eliminated in the group stage), reached the round of 16 for the first time since 2019 in France.

After not having much of a presence at the Women’s World Cup, Spain’s women’s soccer team showed world-class progress at the tournament.

After defeating Costa Rica (3-0) and Zambia (5-0) in the group stage, Spain advanced to the round of 16 as the second-ranked team in the group, despite a heavy 0-4 loss to Japan in the third round.

They went on to beat Switzerland 5-1 in the round of 16, 온라인섯다 the Netherlands 2-1 in the quarterfinals, and Sweden 2-1 in the semifinals to advance to the final.

They defeated England in the final to win their first title.

Spain also avenged a quarterfinal loss at last year’s European Women’s Soccer Championship (Women’s Euro). England won 2-1 in extra time and went on to win the tournament.

This time, however, Spain got their revenge and took home the trophy.

Spain’s victory marks the first time in 16 years that a European country has won the Women’s World Cup trophy since Germany in 2007. Japan won in 2011 and the United States in 2015 and 2019.

England, meanwhile, had to settle for runners-up honors after defeating hosts Australia 3-1 in the semifinals to reach their first-ever final.

Spain broke the deadlock in the 29th minute through Carmona.

A pass from Mariona Calentei on the counter-attack saw Carmona surge down the left flank before rifling a left-footed shot into the net.

England’s search for an equalizer was cut short in the 19th minute when Kira Wilsey was penalized for a handball.

The ball struck Wilsey’s hand as she tried to stop Caldentei’s breakaway inside the penalty box, and the referee awarded a penalty kick after video assistant referee (VAR) review.

Luckily for England, goalkeeper Marie Epps saved Henrique Hermoso’s spot-kick to give them a final spark.

However, England were unable to find the back of the net and the game ended in Spain’s favor.

With their first-ever title, Spain took home $15 million in prize money.

The Golden Ball, awarded to the tournament’s best player, was won by Spain midfielder Aitana Bonmati. The Young Player Award went to Spain’s 2003-born forward Salma Farayuello.

The tournament’s top scorer was Japan forward Hinata Miyazawa (five goals), who was eliminated in the quarterfinals. She is the third Asian player to win the honor, joining Shun Wen (China) in 1999 in the United States and Homare Sawa (Japan) in 2011 in Germany.

For runners-up England, 고스톱 Sumunjang Epps was named the tournament’s best goalkeeper.

The final was attended by a sellout crowd of 75,784.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *