Texas wins first World Series in 62 years MVP Seager

Arizona finishes as runner-up with 4-1 series lead
Seager wins 2nd career WS MVP, 4th all-time

Texas Rangers players celebrate with the championship trophy after defeating the Arizona Diamondbacks in Game

Five of the 2023 Major League Baseball (MLB) World Series (WS) at Chase Field in Phoenix, Arizona, U.S., on April 1.

Texas swept Arizona 5-0 to improve to 4-1 in the series and clinch its first WS title in franchise history.

The Texas Rangers have won their first Major League Baseball (MLB) World Series (WS) title in franchise history (best-of-seven).

Texas swept the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-0 in Game 5 of the 2023 MLB World Series at Chase Field in Phoenix, Arizona, on Nov. 2.

Texas, which hadn’t won a World Series since its inception in 1961, finally stood on top, finishing the series 4-1.

After going 1-1 in Game 2 at home and heading into enemy territory, Texas swept Games 3-5.

The Willie Mays WS Most Valuable Player (MVP) award went to Texas shortstop Corey Seager.

Seager, who made his MLB debut in a Los Angeles Dodgers uniform in 2015, experienced his first championship

with the Dodgers in 2020. In six games of the WS, he batted .400 with two home runs, five RBIs, six walks, and a

1.256 OPS (on-base plus slugging percentage) to earn MVP honors.

Seager signed a massive 10-year, $325 million free agent contract with Texas in November 2021 and added a championship ring in just his second season.

In Game 1 of this year’s World Series, he hit a dramatic, game-tying two-run homer in the ninth inning and then

blasted a two-run shot in Game 3. In five games, he batted .286 with three home runs, six RBIs and a 1.137 OPS to

help his team win the title, earning his second career WS MVP honor.

Seeger became only the fourth player in history to be named WS MVP more than once, joining Sandy Koufax, Bob

Gibson, and Reggie Jackson. Seeger and Jackson (1973 Oakland-1977 Yankees) won WS MVP trophies with different teams.

On the day, Texas starter Nathan Eovaldi pitched six shutout innings to set the stage for the win.

On offense, Mitch Garber hit the game-winning hit in the seventh inning, and Marcus Semien hit a two-run homer in the ninth.

Zach Gallon pitched six and a third innings of one-run ball for Arizona, but was held scoreless by an offense plagued by empty bases.

Texas took the lead in the sixth inning in a pitching duel between Ivaldi and Gallon.

In the top of the seventh, Corey Seager singled and Evan Carter doubled to put runners on second and third with

one out. But Josh Chung struck out swinging and Nathaniel Lowe and Jonah Heim got a fielder’s choice and a

catcher’s foul flyout, respectively, to end the threat.

Arizona couldn’t turn the tide.

With one out in the bottom of the seventh, Ketel Marte drew a walk, but Gabriel Moreno struck out swinging and

Christian Walker flied out to center field.

In the bottom of the eighth, Alec Thomas led off with a single up the middle, but pinch-hitter Parvin Smith grounded out to short.

In the top of the ninth, the game took another dramatic turn.

Texas Chung, Lowe and Heim singled in consecutive at-bats to make it 3-0, and Simeon blasted a 92.5-mph fastball

off Arizona reliever Paul Seawald for the game-winning two-run homer. 카지노사이트존

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *